PDA

View Full Version : HOMEOSTASIS

HARD AT IT
06-28-2013, 02:26 PM
I found this on another forum.. Pretty interesting.....

I'm no doctor so this will be very Ley. If you want scientific explanations and definitions, Google it. lol

What I find most AAS users don't understand is why they continue, year after year, to not really make any significant changes with their physiques cycle after cycle. Yes, things like PCT, food, training intensity and mental stability are all important, but understanding the effect of homestasis is the thing most don't even think about, or know about.

Homeostasis in a nutshell is your body's ability to regulate itself. Take for example a normal healthy 30year old man. His body naturally regulates its blood glucose via the pancreas by producing insulin and glucogon. When this doesn't happen, diabetes is a result.

The body can also regulate its body temp from within. Whereas say a reptile has to lay in the sun to get warm.

But this goes beyond an advantageous benefit. When it comes to adding bodyweight, this is more of a disadvantage than an advantage IMO.

Say you do a 10 week cycle of test @ 500mg/w. You start at 200lbs and end the 10 weeks at 230lbs. Most people will blame a bad PCT, or lack of cals, or intensity in the gym on losing the majority of that BW. Unfortunately, this is true, but it is mainly due to homeostasis.

Your body doesn't wanna be 230lbs. It was comfy at 200lbs because it was done naturally and slowly over time. I say again... TIME. It is very unnatural for the human body to gain 30lbs in 10 weeks, but its even worse when you are gaining muscle. So after your short 10 week cycle, your body says, "thank god thats over, lets get back HOME!"