PDA

View Full Version : Bitcoin fee quandary

metromuscle
01-04-2023, 03:08 PM
Some time ago I bought items with bitcoin, first buying the bitcoin from a Digitalmint machine. When it transferred to my wallet (Mycellium) I was taken aback with what seemed like almost $50 in fees were taken from it (I put in $360 into the machine, and $316 ended up in my wallet).
Does this seem right, when using a bitcoin atm? I'm new at bitcoin and I realize this is the "thing" now, so what is the best way to do transactions with it to avoid such fees? Avoid the atm machines?

MarvelNerd
01-04-2023, 07:34 PM
Some time ago I bought items with bitcoin, first buying the bitcoin from a Digitalmint machine. When it transferred to my wallet (Mycellium) I was taken aback with what seemed like almost $50 in fees were taken from it (I put in $360 into the machine, and $316 ended up in my wallet).
Does this seem right, when using a bitcoin atm? I'm new at bitcoin and I realize this is the "thing" now, so what is the best way to do transactions with it to avoid such fees? Avoid the atm machines?

That isn’t too bad. I bought 400 and ended up with 315. Bought 1K and ended up with less than 800. Not real impressed with the current situation.

Never Stop Growing

Jaxz
01-04-2023, 08:13 PM
I believe you guys need to look around some . I think normal rate is like 10% or so .

metromuscle
01-04-2023, 08:22 PM
I believe you guys need to look around some . I think normal rate is like 10% or so .

Yeah that's what I figured since I'm new at this Bitcoin shit, realizing this is how it is now. Perhaps using the machines there is a higher service fee. I tried three Coin cloud machines and all three were broke down so then I tried a Digital Mint one, which was similar and not difficult at all.

MarvelNerd
01-04-2023, 09:41 PM

I haven’t bought any since then. I was pretty mad.

Never Stop Growing

metromuscle
01-04-2023, 10:20 PM
I haven’t bought any since then. I was pretty mad.

Never Stop Growing